Limbo

So… I’ve decided NYC isn’t working and that I’m moving to Buffalo on 5/19. Until then, there isn’t a place in Buffalo (that I can afford). The problem with having made such a decision is that now I’m in a weird state of limbo. I’ve applied to all the jobs in Buffalo that I think would take more than a week to hire me. Jobs like Barnes & Noble, clerical jobs at local little companies, I haven’t applied to those yet. I feel like I need to be on the ground in Buffalo to stake a claim regarding those jobs, or any jobs. But now I’m just like… I want to get out of here and get on with the next phase of my life.

I applied for a really cool job today with UB’s Web Services department, where I’d be helping with design and generating content. Since I spend all my time on the internet anyway– between blogs, Facebook, job apps, apt hunting, investigating various things (like last night I spent way too much time trying to find out-of-copyright biological sketches by women, and do you know that’s nearly impossible?)– it seems like a good way to direct my energy and actually get paid for it. UB’s website is pretty advanced, so I don’t think I could like, reëngineer it from scratch, but I’m totally capable of editing it and producing/editing content… it’s telling that they want an English or Journalism B.A. and not a C.S. B.S.

About Jessica Smith

about.me/jessicasmith
This entry was posted in Buffalo, job, moving. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

