Today I interviewed for a job at the UVA Library. I’m not sure how the interview went. I thought it went well, in that there is nothing they expect me to do that I haven’t done before. Their questions were like, “are you comfortable using the computer? Are you familiar with Microsoft Word?” But when expectations are low I have a terrible habit of being more sarcastic than usual. I’m aware of the habit and how much it annoys people so I tried to be very aware of it during the interview, but “this is the dumbest question I have ever heard” may have still been legible in my face.

The people who work there are nice, especially the boss, who is very straightforward. I liked her immediately. The salary is good and the hours are slightly flexible (I could, say, work 10-6). My cubicle is very big and by a window.

I have yet to figure out how to answer the “what does customer service mean to you?” question. (This maybe explains why orders from OV still haven’t arrived on your doorstep? 😉 … I think I’m good at customer service because I do genuinely like to help people (this is easier when one is not also in charge of production). But there is probably a pat answer for this that I should memorize, because they seem to be looking for something precise.

About Jessica Smith

about.me/jessicasmith
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

