to the Victorianists

You know what book I really like? Goethe’s Elective Affinities. I read it for a course on Benjamin and the ethics of criticism with Rodolphe Gasche. I read it both before and after the class and it is enjoyable without a course to explain what Benjamin thinks about it. All you 19thC kids should go read it, especially Carolyn.

(If, that is, you ever have time to read a book of your own choosing again.)

Although it is German and Goethe I think this is a Victorian novel. It would have fit in well, thematically, with our Late Victorian class last semester.

I am reading and rereading materials from last semester in preparation for what I hope will be a productive week of paper-writing.

About Jessica Smith

about.me/jessicasmith
This entry was posted in Academia and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

