Trobar Ric, Oxford, MS

Trobar Ric, Oxford, MS

My colleague and friend Douglas Ray and I went to Oxford, MS yesterday to read in Michael Martin Shea‘s Trobar Ric reading series (which he inherited from Tim Early; recent readers have included Adam Clay and Ada Limon, and Douglas and I were scheduled with TJ Beitelman and Andrew Freiman). It was a beautiful warm autumn night, and the reading took place in an old shed with decor, seating, and podium made from reclaimed materials– kind of what you’d imagine a magical Mississippi poetry setting to look like.  We had a good turnout and the audience was really friendly and supportive. All in all a great experience.

My friend Robin Brox, who is a poet/organizer/small force of nature/educator on the Buffalo scene, has started performing bpNichol’s “pome poem” before her readings in Buffalo, and it was running through my head yesterday as I tried to calm myself before the reading, so I decided to give it a go. I don’t have enough wind power to perform this as well as Barrie or Robin, especially when nervous, but I enjoyed opening with it and will probably do it again.

Recording of me practicing “pome poem”

Recording of my part of the Trobar Ric reading

Image | This entry was posted in personal. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Trobar Ric, Oxford, MS

  1. Pingback: 2013 Year in Review | looktouchblog

Leave a Reply

