Happy Bloomsday!

In the spirit of the Twitter trends #booksthatchangedmylife and #happybloomsday, 217 words that changed my life:

INELUCTABLE MODALITY OF THE VISIBLE: AT LEAST THAT IF NO MORE, thought through my eyes. Signatures of all things I am here to read, seaspawn and seawrack, the nearing tide, that rusty boot. Snotgreen, bluesilver, rust: coloured signs. Limits of the diaphane. But he adds: in bodies. Then he was aware of them bodies before of them coloured. How? By knocking his sconce against them, sure. Go easy. Bald he was and a millionaire, maestro di color che sanno. Limit of the diaphane in. Why in? Diaphane, adiaphane. If you can put your five fingers through it, it is a gate, if not a door. Shut your eyes and see.

Stephen closed his eyes to hear his boots crush crackling wrack and shells. You are walking through it howsomever. I am, a stride at a time. A very short space of time through very short times of space. Five, six: the nacheinander. Exactly: and that is the ineluctable modality of the audible. Open your eyes. No. Jesus! If I fell over a cliff that beetles o’er his base, fell through the nebeneinander ineluctably. I am getting on nicely in the dark. My ash sword hangs at my side. Tap with it: they do. My two feet in his boots are at the end of his legs, nebeneinander. (Proteus)

This entry was posted in Literature, Modernism, Organic Furniture Cellar. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Bloomsday!

  1. Martin Earl says:

    Jessica,

    I’ve been reading your public blogs with immense pleasure and have all sorts of things stored up to say. I’ve just been horribly busy finishing a translation project – no time to keep up with correspondence (two or three hours after dinner, until about 2am to write poems and prose, whatever – that’s it). But I love the energy of your prose, your brisk wit and “in-your-face” conclusions. Very curious about what you said the other day about reading poetry – that’s been percolating behind the arras. At any rate, happy Bloomsday to you…
    Martin

  2. yesisaidyesiwillyes says:

    . . . and yes I said yes I will Yes.

Leave a Reply

