It’s LIS Finals Time

And now we get to see how I’ve managed to relate my real life to my LIS life in my final projects.  First complete project: a very personal, very condensed, almost to the point of being just plain wrong, look at the history of small press publishing. Constraint: 25 slides. Hit “Start Presentation” in upper right.

This entry was posted in Librarianship, Literature, small press publishing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s LIS Finals Time

  1. yesisaidyesiwillyes says:

    I don’t know LIS from anything, but this seems extremely well-done to me. The sketches are thumbnail yes but I don’t see it as verging on “plain wrong.” The visuals look good. Especially good to see you work a few of your faves, e.g., Woolf and Howe and Joyce, into the presentation, especially since they well illustrate the points. Let me know who to contact if you don’t get a real high score (grade?) on this one!

    My ardor for librarians is limitless and how exciting that you’ll soon enough be one. Some library and its patrons (or are we called “users” like the addicts we are?) will be very fortunate to have you, given the knowledge and acumen and love of poetry in all its forms that you will bring. I’m assuming, I guess, that there’ll be at least one library that cares about poetry in all its printed (and other) forms, as opposed say, to collecting twitterfeeds (see the LOC’s most recently announced acquisition).

    But anyway good luck, not that you need it, with the semester end projects and such.

  2. Thanks Steve :)

    I guess what I meant by “just plain wrong” is that it sweeps over publishing history before 1880 and starts with linotype. I’m not sure how many “real” book historians would agree with that as a dividing line for modern publishing to begin.

    I will probably get an A- on it as that is the going rate. A-’s on everything (you can get worse, too, but B’s are standard… as they should be, I suppose, but not what I’m used to in graduate school… nor am I used to the pitiful level of discourse of this program…).

    Anyways… I think so far the best response I’ve gotten to this PPT is an old UB friend saying that he hoped to use part of my argument to convince his library to buy more small press materials! In the age of e-books, I think libraries that diversify and specialize are going to survive because they contain either the very unusual or the very specific (that is, things that aren’t easily accessed online or via ebook). Libraries that just acquire in a cookie-cutter fashion, ordering from major publishers, just don’t have much to offer a savvy public.

Leave a Reply

