Merry Christmas!

Books I got for Christmas:
Magdalena Zurawski’s The Bruise
Salvador Plascencia’s The People of Paper
Mark Z. Danielewski’s House of Leaves
Joseph Cornell: Navigating the Imagination, Ed. Lynda Roscoe Hartigan (exhibit)

I tend to buy poetry and theory on my own dime, when my desire for it grows hot enough to semi-justify the expense (I recently bought Gabe Gudding’s Rhode Island Notebook, Susana Gardner’s [lapsed insel weary], and Kate Pringle’s RIGHT NEW BIOLOGY), so holidays are for fiction and those disastrously expensive art books. (Those of you who don’t yet own my book should buy it so I can buy more of other people’s poetry! Alternatively, you could get your local library to order a copy.)

This entry was posted in New Poetry, personal. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Merry Christmas!

  1. kathryn says:

    aw!

    i love House of Leaves. i kinda hate how he ends it. but, it is a very satisfying object to hold and to experience.

    and The Bruise is unbelievably amazing. i am biased, however.

    i am reading the Gnostic Bible.

  2. I’m probably going to start with Maggie’s book, since it seems like the plot I relate to most and I’ve been wanting to read it b/c it’s *hers* too. And also, goddamn, the cover is beautiful.

    Also, it was a nice web of circumstances that I opened it this morning, remembered it was published by UA, and opened it and saw your name on the dedication, it was like you were here with us :)

    My dad stole the Joseph Cornell from me immediately and I haven’t seen it since.

  3. Susana says:

    what is interesting as well is the island influences if yr recent choices!!! hehe… I so want the bruise!!!! can’t wait for your chap as well!

  4. Susana says:

    _of yr choices_ it’s all about RI really—

  5. Ha! Oh yes. Geographical bias!

    HoL and RIN were two that have been recommended to me so many times that I finally bought them (the impact of RIN in Maureen last year was what put me over the top on that one). You two did not even get the chance to be recommended to me because I wanted your books as soon as I could get my grubby hands on them.

    I’m looking forward to my chap too (and Samar’s, the one I’m making, and Jill’s, who’s making mine). I’ve been thinking a lot about family and the occult and I think my chap is going to be a chapter in a larger work that deals with “minor knowledges” passed from woman to woman.

    Happy Christmas!!

Leave a Reply

