What I thought about on the drive to Birmingham

A crush I had three years ago and how its reappearance might resolve • Car accidents and people I know who’ve died in them • Ric, Matt, Chris and Sunday’s reading • Charlie (my brother) • my cats • the nature of power • teaching avant-garde poetry • how to write about teaching avant-garde poetry • the MLA, academic hiring, the job market, my friends who have jobs and how they got them, and Tiffany • PTSD in general, in war, domestic violence and captivity situations, and in art • Woolf • PTSD in my case in particular • Southern belle culture • Blair • astrology • Yoko Ono • photography, self-portraiture, captions, memory, erasure, scanning • memory palaces, mnemotechnics, Proust, the place-name, and one of my poetry projects • fortune-telling, gypsies, heritage, alternate/minor knowledges, and a second poetry project • film, ekphrasis, and a third poetry project • Foursquare • my students’ grades • bills • my BPO job, my coworkers and my boss • exercise • what other places I might live besides Buffalo • how much I like Buffalo • “coincidence” in British fiction • Aristotle’s poetics, small houses, tragic flaws, tragedy • Middlemarch • the “solver” tag in Buffalo • xmas gifts (b/c I’m not done shopping for them yet) • Kate • Lorraine • Mark • Kaplan • Michelle • Michalle • Gillian • Jewishness • The Holocaust • Kafka • emotional availability • sex • Sweden • racism • how to schedule friends/family time in Birmingham • money • Academia and the personal statement for my grad apps • dissertation topics: how to choose from among many ideas, why my friends have chosen what they chose • Splendor in the Grass (always an unavoidable thought when I return to AL) • domestic violence, emotional abuse • Henry James

This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to What I thought about on the drive to Birmingham

  1. A very fine list, lots of stuff, and the way you formatted the words and phrases it sort of looks like a drive. I’d enjoy taking a road trip with your mind, probably you could come along too.

    I don’t get the connection between Alabama and Splendor in the Grass. I thought the movie’s set in Kansas?

    Also, I’m deducing, from what isn’t mentioned as something you thought about, that either you drank little or no fluids on the trip, or have one hell of a bladder.

  2. Ha- Steve– before I realized it was you I was confused for half a second — “Nicholas Bulstrode wrote on my wall? Weird…”

    The reason AL reminds me of Splendor in the Grass is that I saw that movie for the first time with my h.s. boyfriend, in our English class (I’m not sure why we watched it in English class) in 9th grade. And our relationship was much like the relationship in the movie. And now he’s married with a child and lives in Alabama. I haven’t seen him since a short meeting after– I think our freshmen year of college? But when I drive South I think of him and how we wouldn’t have been happy together, or how miserable I would’ve been if our relationship “worked out” in the sense that his life “worked out” in the way he wanted–.

    I did drink fluids on the trip, but I do have one hell of a bladder. I stop every 3-4 hours, generally.

  3. Oh no I am unmasked.

    I never liked those pre-20th century English novels except for the gothics and Wuthering Heights and Middlemarch and Jude the Obscure, though I don’t think of that one as 19th Century though it is.

    While reading Middlemarch, I typed out pages of quotes from the book. I loved Dorothea, or most of her. And Bulstrode, well, what Rexroth called the “social lie” is sort of embodied in him, and there continues to be today, and there will be forever be, a lot of Bulstrode among us humans.

  4. I like 19th C Brit Lit– Austen, James– but I can’t get into the novel b/f that. Also, I can never understand renaissance/early modern studies generally (sorry everyone reading this who loves those periods!).

    It seems like there’s a lot of quotable material in Middlemarch. I heard some passages describing people’s character or brief interpersonal reactions that were very true-to-life.

  5. shannon says:

    I’ve been thinking about grad school too. also, Middlemarch is one I really need to read. Well, first I need to acquire a copy and then I need to read it :) How are you liking it? I’ve read Eliot’s Adam Bede and The Mill on the Floss in college classes.

  6. hm… well… middlemarch is pretty good. but i listened to it on CD so i cheated. i haven’t read ay other eliot. btw, if you’re going back to grad school i recommend a “vocational” program like an MLS where you can actually get a job afterwards.

  7. shannon says:

    lol. an MLS is exactly what i’m thinking of, and researching at the moment. do you have any program recommendations?

  8. Shannon, I don’t know about MLS programs. I’m applying to Buffalo since I am planning to hang out there for awhile anyway. Why don’t you apply to Buffalo and also the Poetics Program?

  9. Lanier says:

    EOL knows about you and your book thanks to me. Hope it did some good. Call me about “Mrs. Landau”. About my future granddaughter–ASAP…..same place as always.

Leave a Reply

