Gone

Preparing for, traveling to, traveling back from untitled: speculations on the expanded field of writing.

I am happily overwhelmed, as by the surprise arrival at a huge banquet of fine foods, by the prospect of attending this conference.  Not only will I be giving a paper and a poetry reading alongside many of my poetry idols, but I’m being paid to do it.  We’re all being put up at a very nice hotel, my travel expenses are covered, and there will even be a stipend leftover after travel costs.  As if that weren’t enough, I’ll be seeing lots of old and very important friends (poets as well as non-poets).  When I begin to think about my amazing good fortune I become so ecstatic that I forget to work on my paper.  So, back to work….

This entry was posted in Contemporary Poetry, poetry readings, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Gone

  1. kristine says:

    Congratulations Jessica! That looks super cool. I may be a teeny bit envious (or just sad and frustrated w/ myself) that I can’t go to a conference I was planning on–no $ to attend, and received none from my school. I’m sure you know the feeling. But whatevr…. I’m glad to see artists/scholars getting support and a platform to discuss their work. Yay!

  2. I wish all conferences were like this– small, very focussed, well-organized and well-funded. Yay Annenberg Foundation, Matias, Christine and Courtney!

    … I’m not eligible for travel funding from my school right now either, since I’m not in school… even profs at Buffalo can’t get travel funding right now because pretty much all spending (except, apparently, $1.5M on a sidewalk to replace a perfectly fine one) is curbed right now in the SUNY system due to state budget cuts.

  3. Michael says:

    Congrats Jessica!

    Sounds exciting. Evidently there is a poetry God. ;)

  4. Yay, Jessica! I hope I get up to LA on Saturday to see you…

Leave a Reply

