Foursquare SE Samar Abulhassan

This year’s Dusie project is a little different from previous years–almost all of the participants are also editors, so instead of making our own books, each editor is making someone else’s book.  Jill Stengel of a+bend is making my chapbook, and I’m making Samar Abulhassan’s.  I knew Jill before this project but I didn’t know Samar, and I was pleasantly surprised with her work.  Although she was randomly assigned to me, I actually love her work.  I’ve been thinking a lot this year about diaristic modes of writing and things that happen in small-increment series, everyday poems like Ratcliffe’s Real.  The poems Samar sent me are a mostly prose-poem series describing her daily life while living at a Zen center in New Mexico.  I will be publishing the whole series as a joint Dusie/Take-Home Project, but in the meantime here are six poems as a little taste of what’s to come.

This entry was posted in Foursquare, New Poetry, publishing in miniature. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Foursquare SE Samar Abulhassan

  1. yesIsaidyesiwillyes says:

    Just got it and have spent the last 30 minutes with it.

    This one is incredible all around, from the fabric of the sleeve the ripples in the eyes, the cover shot and design, the (prose!!!)poems, and the words (intense quiet real imagined).

    Congratulations and thanks!

  2. Thanks Steve! I was happy with the way it turned out.

  3. susana says:

    this is what this project is all about…I am excited that you and Samar have hit it off so well, I somehow knew you would ! xS

Leave a Reply

