I forgot to tell you about the man with sakura blossoms. At night, in the subway, at almost midnight, an old man waiting for the train with a few small branches on which a scattering of sakura blossoms budded.

IN A STATION OF THE METROThe apparition of these faces in the crowd:
Petals on a wet, black bough.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to

  1. Steven Fama says:

    I believe Pound used a semi-colon at the end of the first line. not a colon.

    FYI, Reznikoff among others has a few (maybe about a half-dozen) that “feature” the NYC subway.pl

  2. Joseph says:

    Steven,

    Have you made it your job to run around the blogosphere correcting everyone? Seriously, man, it’s obnoxious.

    Joe Massey

  3. Steven Fama says:

    Joe,

    No.

    But I do love the details. And why not?

    The one time I had surgery, I loved it that the surgeon was obsessed with details. And every time I have the brakes fixed on the car (180,000 miles on the thing now), I am really glad the repair shop folks are really into details.

    And, from what I’ve read (and enjoyed) of your poetry, I am happy too that you give sharp attention to the smallest details: of word choice, of word placement, etc.

  4. Jessica Smith says:

    I just cut and pasted the text from another website; I didn’t check the punctuation. Though I too wondered about the colon, which seemed wrong.

Leave a Reply

