Eric left me at home alone with the boxcutter

And after applying to another handful of salaried positions, I got madly frustrated with not being able to walk through my room without tripping over boxes of books, and I took that box cutter to my boxes and in the next three hours came up with a precarious but functional system of cardboard “shelves” which will suffice until:
a. the cats try to climb them
b. they collapse under their own weight
c. I can afford real bookshelves
d. I find the energy to scout for milk crates

In building this monstrosity, I discovered once again that I have too many books. Since this is only about 1/3 of my books, it may be possible to sell some of those in storage, after all.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Eric left me at home alone with the boxcutter

  1. Steven Fama says:

    I like your monstrosity!

  2. Jessica Smith says:

    Thanks :)

    You were right about selling books… although I’m hoping I get a good enough job w/in the next few months to not have to sell Felicia. I am mostly eating rice, toast, and multivitamins, and I have managed to pay all my credit card minimums this month.

  3. K. Lorraine Graham says:

    I like the bookshelves, too–they’re much better crafted than my cardboard shelves were. Eggs are an inexpensive source of protein!

    I admit that I’d part with my car in a heartbeat, if I had one (moneysuck, environment, general pain in the butt)–but I know you love driving, and Felicia’s been your car for some time, but, but, but….

  4. Steven Fama says:

    What’s cool about “the monstrosity” is its incredible maximization of the book to square inch of space ratio. That thing is solid! It’s a text wall that (until the cardboard goes) will protect and nourish.

    And I hope you’re eating some fresh veggies and fruit with the rice and toast…

  5. silencius says:

    Dante? Really? I know you can count on libraries for that one.

    Good wall though.

  6. Jessica Smith says:

    But Ken, I need to write in my books.

Leave a Reply

