UC Press Sale

Well, I spent all my money. Your turn! (Still waiting for the collected Creeley to come down a little.)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to UC Press Sale

  1. eric unger says:

    maybe now that mr. slosek is employed there house press authors can receive some further savings. i highly doubt it, but i can dream. uc press is my favorite big press. when i think of all their stuff i own that i really love, i’m kind of floored. only new directions has them beat… pretty good company. i think the new spicer book(s) kevin killian and peter gizzi are editing are being published by uc as well.

  2. Jessica Smith says:

    The sale makes things really cheap– the hardcovers under $10, sometimes even cheaper than the paperbacks. Lots of awesome stuff on sale– I got some Kim, Berssenbrugge, Retallack…

    I think I must be the only person who doesn’t like Spicer.

  3. Steven Fama says:

    The prices on the hardcovers are insane. UC Press must be losing money on each hardcover sold.

    I bought the Spahr. I didn’t buy it when it came out a few years back and now that it is into subsequent printings, the bibliophile in me has been waiting to find a first printing of the paperback. But at eight bucks for a hardcover, I can’t resist. And maybe the hardcover is a first printing.

  4. Jessica Smith says:

    I don’t think they’re losing any money Steve. That’s about what a hardback book costs to print.

  5. Steven Fama says:

    OK, I confess that I know very little about publishing costs. I do know that when we published the book I wrote/edited, it was a lot cheaper per book to make 5,000 than 1,000 copies. But that’s about all I know.

    I just figured with a “regular” price of 50 bucks that the initial investment in the hardcovers was more than 10 bucks. But even if the cost of actually making the the book is less than 10 dollars, I’m assuming there were “back end” costs (specifically warehousing costs that have increased the per unit cost of each book).

    But however it works, a hardback for less than 10 is a deal. I’m looking forward to reading the Spahr.

Leave a Reply

