Against the dying of the light

Work today was hard. Earlier in the day than usual, I began judging and consequently disliking many of the customers. Mostly my mind was on Tommy and my parents.

Since last night, I’ve been thinking a lot about FIP and the way my foster cat has been acting. I took her to the vet about 2 weeks ago and they didn’t think anything was particularly wrong. So I took her home for more TLC. But recently she’s been lethargic and her belly has swelled despite her not eating much– like Tommy. So I took her to the shelter, saying, I can’t care for her anymore, she needs real medical attention. And they drew fluid from her belly and said she had FIP. A few minutes later I held her while they euthanized her. I watched her breathe– breathe– breathe– and then stop.

She was a very sweet, affectionate young cat. I had hoped she would get better, and she never really did. It upsets me. The next step is to clean my house to try to protect my other cats from the virus. Since they’re very healthy, it’s unlikely that they’ll be susceptible to it, and if they were going to catch it they probably already would have. But the cleaning is as much for my peace of mind as it is for their health.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Against the dying of the light

  1. Annandale Dream Gazette says:

    Oh no, so sad. Sorry about your foster cat, Jessica.

  2. Jessica Smith says:

    Yeah… I tried not to get attached, but it didn’t work. Watching her die was so sad. No more chances to get better.

  3. K. Lorraine Graham says:

    Hi Jessica,

    I am sorry to hear about all of that. This is going to sound corny, but at least she spend the last weeks of her life with you and not in the shelter. Our animal (and people) friends can’t live forever, but it’s important to love and take care of them and make them happy as best we can. I think you did that.

  4. Michelle Detorie says:

    What lorraine said.

    Wishing you comfort…

Leave a Reply

