Weekend excursion

This weekend I visited New York, went to a couple of parties, ate sushi with my brother and his girlfriend, and went to the Guggenheim and the Strand for the first time. The host of one of the parties had a giant blackboard, which kept me occupied for awhile.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Weekend excursion

  1. Steven Fama says:

    Did you find any books to buy at the Strand?

    I haven’t been to that store since 2000, but back then it was hell to find anything (or browse) in their used stacks, as the books were not alphabetized by author.

    But the Strand always had a great selection of remainders and review copies, including in the basement. And the rare book department upstairs (next door and up the elevator) was always fun to look at.

  2. Jessica Smith says:

    Truthfully, I wasn’t that impressed with the Strand. We have numerous used bookstores here in Cville and I find Dedalus as interesting, perhaps more so, since I am not so interested in things like review copies. Strand reminded me of books-a-million, which is great for a certain clientèle. The books I wanted I thought I could probably get cheaper online (collected Lacan, for instance). I bought a couple of remainders (“The Birdwatcher’s Companion” and a book about south pole exploration) and a used copy of Freud’s collected lectures. And a bookbag, which is really what I went for.

  3. Ed says:

    try for small press and very rare poetry editions try Gary Lawless’ GULF of MAINE BOOKS

    134 Maine Street
    Brunswick, Maine

    There was another book store in The City (besides Strand) they moved to a new location then folded..
    I once was there 1974 in the poetry section checking out sales of my books that they had on consignment and a girl was next to me reading something.. I said “here, this is mine” turned out she bought a copy (The City) and had me sign it “To Hettie, Love, Ed”

    ‘that was a good book store not the jumble that Strand (still) is

  4. Michelle Detorie says:

    I wanted to tell you how much I like this chalkboard poem — the scale and the impermanence of the markings. Plus, I like seeing how you layer/connect/fit words together. I’d be interested to see what you would do with a roomful of chalkboards. It would also make for an interesting sort of “vandalism” — a gentle form a graffiti or something. I’m picturing you slipping into empty classrooms and leaving mysterious chalkboard poems behind. Or else leaving bits of poems scattered over municipal streets and sidewalks.

Leave a Reply

