Recent acquisitions

From Coach House Books (they were having a sale):
Nicole Brossard, Notebook of Roses and Civilizations (Linda likes her work so I thought I’d try it)
Jon Paul Fiorentino, Hello Serotonin
Nancy Shaw and Catriona Strang, Busted (awesome)
Mark Truscott, Said Like Reeds or Things
Rachel Zolf, Human Resources (highly anticipated among my Canadian friends + Charles recommended)

Catherine Daly, Chanteuse/Cantatrice (Heretical Texts) (gosh I just love this series)
Catherine Daly, Paper Craft (Moria) (I can’t believe this is POD, it looks fab! Hint when using Lulu: square books automatically get heavier-weight paper!)
Jeannine Hall Gailey, Becoming the Villainess (Steel Toe) (a very fun book)
Maryrose Larkin, The Book of Ocean (i.e.) (order now for a discount)

Sabrina Calle, The Gilles Poem: Winter 2006 Collection (Transmission) (I’m devouring this at a rapid pace, it’s right up my alley. Sabrina Calle should send me a poem for 4SQ.)
Michelle Detorie, Daphnomancy (Cricket)
Jennifer Firestone, Waves (Portable Press)
Michael Koshkin, Orgy in the Beef Closet (Transmission)

I probably won’t buy any more perfect-bound books until fall when I have dependable income again, but I have a running list when it’s time. I should just request gift certificates to SPD and Green Integer for my bday.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Recent acquisitions

  1. Simon says:

    I was just re-reading Brossard’s Blue Books (her first publications, from the 1970s.) I would say she is very^3 interesting — am curious to read her later work now.

  2. Logan Ryan Smith says:

    your post is not helping transmission sell books.

    please explain this phenomenon.

  3. Jessica Smith says:

    Sorry Logan. I do what I can. The Calle is a good read.

    Haven’t read Koshkin’s yet.

    Brossard, like Robertson, is one of the big female names in avant-garde poetry that I haven’t gotten to yet.

  4. Simon says:

    and also Canadian!

    explain!

  5. Jessica Smith says:

    1. Canada is producing better poets these days than the U.S. Sorry; it’s just a fact. Maybe it’s because they’ve embraced the concretism of the 60s more; maybe it’s because LangPo was less of a giant force there; maybe it’s because their “mainstream poetry” is less separate from their “experimental poetry” than in our market. Whatever the combination of forces, it’s Canadian poetry I look to for a good read.

    2. That said, because Canadian poetry is rarely taught in U.S. schools (even in a border city like Buffalo where it is greatly supported in academia), my own study of it is something I must do “on the side.” So I haven’t been able to read everyone I’d like to read.

    If you’re interested in learning more, go to Coach House Books (chbooks.ca), they’re a good outlet for Canadian Poetry.

Leave a Reply

