Sunburned

I am a lovely shade of azalea pink.

That’ll teach me to take the sunblock out of my purse to save weight.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Sunburned

  1. Reen says:

    Seriously. Three weeks after my sunburn, my calves are still a rosy shade. And leathery. Mmmm…like a big red crocodile.

  2. Jessica Smith says:

    there’s a bonspiel for that.

  3. Steven Fama says:

    Although I guess it ain’t scientifically verified, aloe vera works to soothe my sunburns — maybe its just that any moisturizer helps.

    I’m at the (st)age where a hat is also necessary, no matter what the spf of the sunscreen.

    I’ve a friend, a bit older, who wears gloves too, and long sleeves.

  4. Jessica Smith says:

    i’ve been slathering aloe vera on myself every 12 hours or something. it usually works to calm the skin and keep me from peeling. pure aloe works best, straight from the plant, but the neon-green aloe gel is what i’m using at present.

    every year i forget that i burn easily, and every year i get an initial burn that then fades to a layer of slightly-less-pale-than-i-otherwise-am.

    it’s not a terrible burn, just a normal sunburn.

  5. Steven Fama says:

    Yep, aloe gel is the stuff. My bottle has the slogan, “Like having an aloe plant right in this bottle” printed on it. That always makes me smile, thinking of a little cactus growing in there.

  6. Paul Burdick says:

    On my father’s side I am blessed with the blood of those who do not burn easily (and brown nicely), but I seem to have many friends who are of the pasty white and pale crowd to the point that our house has a dedicated aloe vera supply during the summer for all who come by. While I try to be sensitive, I did make a lobster-back comment once.

  7. Jessica Smith says:

    probably nicer to go with the flower comparisons rather than shellfish :)

Leave a Reply

