The local fabric store is going out of business. So that’s what I did today. I’m kind of… ahead… on 4SQ fabric. Just a little. So cheap. So pretty. Ahhhh.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to

  1. Steven Fama says:

    I don’t mean to discourage you. I love the 4SQs, including the beautiful fabric sleeves. And god knows a going out of business sale can be to die for.

    But I love getting things — chiefly books of poetry — and after circa 25 years of doing so am beginning to pay the price and face very difficult choices. Unlike stones and moss, I’m finding just how mightly stuff gathers to me as I’ve rolled through life.

    I read about the Collyer brothers and get scared.

    This comment is probably more about me than you buying a bunch of fabric. So thanks for letting me try to work it out, and good luck on the May 4SQ.

  2. Jessica Smith says:

    collyer bros? what?

    fabric is relatively inexpensive and when not made up retains retail value. don’t worry about my inventory, if that’s what you’re getting at. i currently have enough fabric for next year’s 4SQ (and am looking forward to those new subscription $s to recover the costs), plus a bit more. i didn’t get dozens (or even a dozen) of fabrics or anything, although it was very tempting. when you only have $x in your checking account, it puts a natural limit on things.

    but oh yeah, so pretty. so very pretty. very exciting. i have to get to know more female poets though.

  3. Reen says:

    Aren’t the Collyer brothers the guys who died in a Harlem apartment that was so crammed full of the stuff they owned that it collapsed on them and killed them?

    Why yes, me of the awesome memory (Captain of the Quizbowl Team!) —
    they were.

  4. Jessica Smith says:

    aha.
    your quizbowl team had captains?! nofe air. i totally needed more geek power in high school.

  5. Jessica Smith says:

    that’s kind of awesome, though.

  6. Reen says:

    The Collyer brothers or my Captaincy?

    Both, obviously. ;}

    I was actually cocaptain. The only girl and thus responsible for all the questions on history, literature, art, geography, and random odds and ends, while the four guys handled questions about base six numbering systems, etc.

    Once we had a ten question lightning round on Poets Whose Last Names Begin With W. I was on fire!

  7. Jessica Smith says:

    both are awesome. it’s also awesome that the brother named homer was the one who went blind. what are the chances?

  8. Jessica Smith says:

    these collyer brothers remind me of the charlottesville trash project i was/am working on…

  9. Jessica Smith says:

    they had 8 live cats (it doesn’t say how many dead ones?)… so 8 is probably too many. but i think the idea of a crazy cat lady must be displaced somewhat by such crazy cat men.

  10. Jessica Smith says:

    one of my favorite crazies

Leave a Reply

