I think we need a moratorium on marriage.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to

  1. François says:

    I concur …

  2. Reen says:

    I don’t know about that. Maybe we just need more people who can “do” marriage.

    Or some socially acceptable nicely-roadmapped alternatives for those that can’t swing the married thing.

    But, I have no idea what something like that would look like, so I think we’ll just have to settle for eating more ice cream.

  3. Jessica Smith says:

    now, 1. you can only marry one person at a time, 2. you can only marry a person of the opposite sex (and there are only 2 “allowed” sexes)

    i think that’s enough for a moratorium. but if it wasn’t, i think divorce rates indicate that it’s not “marriage” per se that people want, but some kind of bond involving jewelry and a big party.

    so i think everyone should have to sit in time-out and think about what marriage means before they do it.

    on top of which, it would also be nice to have socially-acceptable alternatives for when one lunches with one’s grandmother. and more ice cream, definitely, and cake.

  4. Jessica Smith says:

    also i think none of my friends should be able to get married without my permission. which i will occassionally grant.

    this is when lorraine should come in and say something wise.

  5. Jessica Smith says:

    I am kidding. I just freak out a bit when my friends get married.

  6. Reen says:

    I’m okay with only marrying one person at a time, but that’s really just my own preference. People are exhausting. Knowing more than one of them well enough to marry them would be kind of horrible, like reproduction by budding. Or being part of the borg.

    I want to share a brain with one person at most. The most I care for from the rest of humanity are fleeting convergences.

  7. Mr. Horton says:

    Marx has a fair bit to say about this.

  8. Jessica Smith says:

    i think i would just like to live in a big house with all my friends like a big family. it takes a village to raise a child, and so on.

  9. R says:

    I heartily agree that there need to be more occasions for sitting down with ones grandmother (or, in my case, any of my wonderful great-aunts) for tea and cake or coffee and ice cream. And much more jewelry and many more parties!!!

    (Speaking as someone who is going ahead without your permission but wondering if a blessing would be granted?) :)

  10. Jessica Smith says:

    who is “r”? i only consider myself authorized to express approval/disapproval (i.e. throw a fit) in cases of friendship.

  11. -k says:

    Does this apply to existing marriages?

  12. Jessica Smith says:

    you and mags are ok. i approve. i disapprove of the dearth of pictures of genevieve on flickr though. come on! first child! millions of pictures! where are they?

  13. Jessica Smith says:

    i mean i know you need to sleep and stuff but i need to see pictures of cute babies.

Leave a Reply

