Anthology release party/reading

I dreamt about the release party for the Anthology. I want to have it in Chicago on New Year’s Eve 2008.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Anthology release party/reading

  1. RW says:

    I’m down for Chi! – Hey are you coming down to T-town for Barbara Jane Reyes? – Next week, Thursday the 19th…

  2. Jessica Smith says:

    Yay! There are lots of anthologized poets in the midwest, and it’s fairly easy to get to Chicago (Southwest, for example), plus it’s easier to go for New Year’s than, like, NYC. I dreamt of a huge warehouse with poetry, bands, booze, books, snacks… a gargantuan party. I will need to get people on the ground in Chicago to help organize… but I think it will be awesome. It was awesome in my dream, anyway. I was leaving the party with some of the House Press boys at 8 a.m. the next morning and there were still people milling around.

  3. Jessica Smith says:

    and oh yeah, i’ll try to come down for BJR. Lotsa people in Tuscaloosa I want to finally meet in real life.

  4. derek beaulieu says:

    now, do you mean the nye between 07&08, or between 08&09? (it makes a difference, i wanna know how far in advance to book my tix!)
    derek

  5. Jessica Smith says:

    ;-) Dec. 31, 2007-Jan 1, 2008

  6. Annandale Dream Gazette says:

    Hi Jessica,

    I just started a blog of poets’ dreams. May I include your 4/9 dream (pulling a sentence from the blog entry & a few from your comment field) & attribute it to you?

    It’s http://www.annandaledreamgazetteonline.blogspot.com

    Lynn.Behrendt@gmail.com

  7. alixandra says:

    oh, I must work very hard in the summer & somehow be able to come to the party.
    poetry has suddenly become my second most expensive pastime (the first being edu. of course).

  8. François says:

    I’m down for it, but I’ll have to see how my finances go. Yanno, between starting grad school and not being funded for the first year …

    I can’t believe the anthology is almost here!

  9. Jessica Smith says:

    i would like to have one giant release party, but ideally we’d be able to organize local readings for anthologized authors all over the country (incl. Canada). Like, I imagine biweekly Anthology readings, each 2nd week a different locale. Not like the Wave Books tour bus, no one traveling. Just pockets of poets, grassroots.

  10. François says:

    Hum … Do I have to go back to Texas for its localized reading? Because, yanno, I’d rather not. It being Texas and all.

  11. bill says:

    i think we could help put something together in chicago.

  12. Jessica Smith says:

    thanks bill!

    françois, no, by ‘local’ i mean “where you are” … except for the release, i want to minimize traveling/costs and maximize exposure/celebration. (the release being the latter but not the former)

Leave a Reply

