magic words

Know any? Abracadabra doesn’t work. I bet some of these word verification words are magic. It’s just to find out which ones work. There must be some.

I got a big Oxford History of English Literature book in the mail today. It looks like a high school history textbook (it has pictures!). I realized that I had a better understanding of the history of German lit than the history of English lit, just because I read this great history of German lit once, and that seemed wrong. Although if you only get bits and pieces of English lit from specialized classes then you do avoid internalizing a progress narrative. But you also avoid knowing what authors are writing at the same time and stuff. So I should read this book.

This entry was posted in Academia and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to magic words

  1. François says:

    Well, since you brought up German lit, have you tried “Hocus Pocus” or “Shazam!” (okay, that’s actually comic books). The former has worked magics for me.

    Word verif today is “tnnae.”

  2. Jessica Smith says:

    i tried hocus pocus, to no avail! i’ll work on my shazam.

  3. Steven Fama says:

    “Invoco legem magiciarium”

    That’s a magic chant that translated from the Latin language would be “I invoke the law of magic.”

    The old-time (late ’30s /early ’40s radio show Mandrake the Magician would start with a big gong crash and a deep voice intoning that phrase, or maybe it was the phrase followed by the gong. Either way, it was very effective radio.

    And no, I don’t remember this from my childhood. People who did remember it told me about it, and I then tracked down a recording.

  4. mark wallace says:

    Saying “Jamesons” works for me. And it really does usually summon a leprechaun.

  5. Jessica Smith says:

    hm… i’d better use that one carefully, then. does lorraine know you have this power, or was she the one who taught it to you?

  6. csperez says:

    my magic phrase is “frantz fanon” – it’s also my gf and mine’s “safe word” (if you know what i mean ;) and thus it always magically stops pain

    and now i’m painfully embarrassed…”frantz fanon”

  7. Jessica Smith says:

    craig… fanon is your safety word? that’s a little warped, my dear.

    but i forgot what my safety word is. i guess i need a new one. i have a marriage-safety word though.

  8. Ray-Ray says:

    i was always told that ‘Please’ and ‘Thank You’ were the magic words.

    i still can’t reach the gddm vet. blaaaaah.

  9. Jessica Smith says:

    those aren’t magic words, ray. that’s a bunch of hogwash. ;-)

    poor puppy! how is he doing?

Leave a Reply

