Today, on The Tree….

A red-bellied woodpecker and a blue jay.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Today, on The Tree….

  1. Steven Fama says:

    That red-bellied w-pecker is new to me — we don’t have them here in California. It’s one cool, very striking looking, bird.

  2. Jessica Smith says:

    yes. i thought that it was the yellowhammer, our state bird (this is not the correct name, but the one that is used), but on looking closer at the bird guide i determined that it wasn’t. its little head was surprisingly red.

    i have also seen downy and pileated woodpeckers, but in general i have trouble distinguishing woodpeckers (and warblers and sparrows)(warblers are the hardest for me).

    blue jays are mean birds, but they are quite beautiful when healthy.

  3. Jessica Smith says:

    some gorgeous woodpecker shots

    i’ve got to get some birdfeeders.

  4. Steven Fama says:

    I advise against bird-feeders. The birds do okay without humans feeding them. Plus bird-feeders generally will bring rodents by which I mean rats. Just let the birds come to you. Fewer birds that way, true, but more natural to me that attracting by feeding.

  5. Steven Fama says:

    And wow yellowhammer is a strange name for a flicker, and strange too that its the state bird of Alabama while it is not at all unique to the state (I’ve seen them here in California). And the flicker is a striking bird too, with its spots. And the sound of a flicker is unforgettable, except that I’ve forgotten it. But I’ll never forget the oddness the first time I heard it.

    And speaking of striking and strange, I must note that you linked to a picture of a flicker on flickr!

  6. Lyle Solla-Yates says:

    I agree with Steven that bird feeders aren’t terrifically natural, but I’ve never experienced anything about rats. Admittedly, I’m in Charlottesville, somewhat close to Downtown. Squirrels show up a bit. If you are rat-phobic and don’t want to take the chance, there are an enormous number of bird-friendly bushes and trees you could plant, if your thumb is green. They will attract birds in a more natural way. Or you can do like me, and do both.

Leave a Reply

