Not in the house

More importantly, my dad went to the hospital (we’re not sure why) and I took Gandalf for his night walk, and we saw an owl. I have never seen an owl in the wild before. It was quite a large one, I thought it was a small hawk. But it wasn’t. It sat there, owl-like, looking at us. Unable to get a positive i.d., but thinking Barred?

Birds are always happening like that, appearing for the first time (I keep a life-list) in one’s life when something important is happening. It’s no wonder Southerners are so superstitious about them.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Not in the house

  1. shanna says:

    owls are always an important sign
    if she hooted, there is something you need to know
    if she was silent, you know it already but don’t realize it yet

  2. Jessica Smith says:

    Uh-oh. She didn’t hoot.

    Damn owl.

    I usually work with my windows open, but I am a bit afraid to today.

Leave a Reply

