… and also…

I decided that if a daughter is somehow magically born from my head today, like Athena, I will name her Charlotte Ellis, for Charlottesville and Harvey Ellis.

Upon returning home I received a number of letters (SS, MT, GD) and T.A. Noonan’s Balm (which looks fab, but I haven’t finished reading it yet).

I want A Thousand Plateaus on tape. It needs a deep, hissing voice, or a deep, rattling but sultry voice. Gilda perhaps.

This entry was posted in New Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to … and also…

  1. Steven Fama says:

    Harvey Ellis the architect / designer?

    How’d he get in yr head?

  2. K. Lorraine Graham says:

    I think I’d like most of postmodern theory on tape, so I could take notes and doodle.

    And hooray for starting yoga! Just remember to scope out studios and talk to the teacher beforehand. Yoga journal online has a directory of teachers/studios registered with the yoga alliance. It also has a primer, I think, to the different styles.

  3. Jessica Smith says:

    klg, there seem to be multiple bikram yoga studios in the part of bham where my parents live (which is a sort of “hip” part near 5 Pts (that geographical specificity is for Jim T)) as well as a full pilates studio, i mean, serious pilates with all the weird old machines.

    i think the Jameson would work well on tape. Hey Tony, get him to record his book on tape. Preferably abridged. It’s so pomo.

    Steve, I blush to admit: Antiques Roadshow. But Ellis is her middle name. Charlotte would take the last name of my most recent lover.

  4. Steven Fama says:

    Blush if you must, but the animating principle in watching Antiques Roadshow is curiosity — and curiosity not centered on monetary value (although “the money shot” is the predictable climax of each segment) — about the objects in focus: who made the thing, its distinguishing features, what happens when you look closely at it — and that’s a good thing.

    That there’s a 58 word sentence!

  5. Jessica Smith says:

    steve, your analysis of AR makes it sound like the PBS equivalent to a Joseph Cornell piece.

    i like AR. i have been thinking recently that maybe i should have gone into anthropology. my interests keep heading in that direction– a combination of history, language, ritual, patterns, psychology, cultural production–

  6. Jessica Smith says:

    …. also, neither Elbert nor Hubbard makes a good name, so I am looking for other ways to inscribe my brainchild with the history of Arts & Crafts.

  7. Steven Fama says:

    For yr brainchild I suggest for yr consideration the name Esherick.

    The sound and look of that name has a certain Gothic charm to it, I think, and his imagination and achievement, though still esoteric to many, may be as important as Simon Rodia’s.

  8. Amish Trivedi says:

    We’ve kept a record of children’s names so that when we do eventually have children, we’ve got them ready to go.

  9. Jessica Smith says:

    my name ideas change every day, although there are some consistencies: kate, jane, alice, adelaide, charlotte, penelope. but some days i will just randomly decide to name her something that doesn’t even appeal to me as a name, like Amanda. but i’m not planning to have kids for awhile yet. many years. so they are not real names. it’s more like the grown-up version of “playing house.”

  10. speterme says:

    Why would Charlotte be given the last name of your most recent lover? Why not give her your last name?

    My wife kept her last name after we were married. We have two kids. Our daughter has her last name and our son has mine.

    There’s no reason you have to abide by the patriarchal norm.

    I like the name Adelaide. But, then I have an aunt named Adeline, which is also cool.

    pac, lov and undrstanding (nvr giv up!)

    Stv Ptrmir
    no man’s land
    minnapolis, mn
    usa

  11. Jessica Smith says:

    i wouldn’t do it to abide by the patriarchal norm, but to record a spatiotemporal moment. i plan to give my real children their own last name, neither mine nor my partner’s, and i do not intend to take anyone else’s last name for myself.

    i love the name adeline, but as a poet i don’t know if i can do it to my poor child. (add-a-line). like susan howe naming her child mark (although she had an excuse. and i would too, i would say i was naming her after woolf. but seriously, no puns for the kids.)

Leave a Reply

