merry xmas / rip james brown

L.A. Style – James Brown Is Dead [1991] … I’m the only one in the house who remembers this song. It always confused me. But then, I was 11.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to merry xmas / rip james brown

  1. Mark Wallace says:

    James Brown’s Christmas albums are as good as any albums by those who have dared to enter such dangerously schlocky territory; yes, may he rest in peace.

    Merry XMas to you, Jessica! Next stop MLA. Starting Wednesday, I have to be up at 6 a.m. several days in a row; that’s 3 a.m. California time. Ugh. Holiday season anyone? Where’d it go?

  2. Jessica Smith says:

    That’s very early. At least we don’t have hives and a broken hot water thingy.

    I’m glad you’re coming and I’ll see you, since I was rather distracted last time I saw you. :)

  3. Mark Wallace says:

    I hope I do see you, Jessica! With luck I’ll have a little free time to make some of the afternoon events on the 28th, but otherwise I’m mainly locked in. After three full days of interviews that start early, I’m probably leaving before the big reading late Friday night. Enough is enough–and 50+ readers at two minutes each would probably just end up being the final nail in my coffin.

  4. Jessica Smith says:

    wow mark, sounds like a hectic schedule. i hope you have time for drinking and carousing and that the interviews go well.

    at the brink of my 14-hr drive to see people stress out about job interviews and panels about meaningless academic bullshit i’m feeling a bit less interested in the whole shebang.

  5. Mark Wallace says:

    In my experience, the MLA is the least interesting of all conferences/festivals/whatever else. There are some interesting intellectual moments, but not that many. And many of us who are there don’t get to go to them anyway.

    However, if you’re making studies in the pain caused by capitalist disciplinarity, you sure will have a lot of evidence.

  6. Jessica Smith says:

    maybe for the good of my continued academic studies it’s better if i don’t go to the MLA. maybe this is why they don’t encourage younger PhDs to go to it. it’s quite awful. at least that’s what i thought about it last year.

Leave a Reply

